How do you pursue your calling?

Arvid Loewen CVR smallI admire Arvid’s ability to maintain a sense of humour while under such duress. I have seen this during two of Arvid’s tours that I previously had the privilege to be a part of. Now that he is on a loop on Henderson Highway I see the same joking nature come through.

I am a huge Germany fan.  Arvid a Paraguay fan. I pulled in to see him and I had my Germany flag on my car window and of course he had to point that out. If I had been cycling as long as he had been I am not sure I would have been able to recognize seeing a flag, let alone recognize the country it belonged to.

Another time when I stopped in to see him I saw him taking a brief nap – (what are the odds really, he sleeps so little) –  and it is so encouraging to see a man who is following God’s call.  To give 100% effort in carrying out the task God has called us to. To sleep so little in order to accomplish so much.

Last night it was pouring rain.  I was working on the Mulli script. It occurred to me that there was Arvid slugging it out in the rain cycling for MCF while I was up there in a room writing away for MCF. It seemed unfair really.

I don’t have the gift of cycling. And I am guessing that when the bugs are in Arvid’s eyes, the sun is drenching his skin, his muscles are aching, that the temptation to do something else besides riding might be quite high. It’s an incredible story. I think his son Paul has done a great job in telling it.

Why do I mention this?  We each get called by God to different things. What I find inspiring and encouraging about Arvid is that he is giving it all he has. Surrender to Christ. Dedication. Commitment.  Ecclesiastes 9:10 says: “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might”

So whether you are cycling staggering distances, or if you are like the two Pauls who are more into the  writing side of thing – God has given you a gift and a unique calling that will take everything you have to complete.

It’s just so cool to have a visual encouragement in Arvid. I hope you are inspired by his example to pursue your calling.

For details on the 2014 ride please checkout www.grandpascan.com

 

Leave a Reply

