How Do You Hear From God?

How does God speak today?

I was driving through Minnesota this past weekend. It is an incredible state. Gorgeous. There is something so peaceful and inspiring in by driving passed farmer’s fields, rivers, and trees as they change colour.

I find that God speaks in many different ways.  I feel close to Him when I am reading His Bible, when I am writing, running, in hanging out with my family and friends. And more recently – when I am out in nature.

As I drive along I will suddenly see a farmer’s field, and I will be amazed. Why is that? When I was younger those images bored me. Now they are amazing to me. Maybe we change as we get older.

Or maybe we begin to hear God speaking in different ways the more we try to listen to Him. I feel encouraged when I’m running or driving through nature. You never know. Maybe the next time you are outside and you see a sunrise, sunset, a river, or my personal favourite – the stars flooding the night sky – you might consider just taking a moment to ask God what he might be telling you.  They say 93 percent of communication is non-verbal. And many times it seems that God speaks right to our souls. Nature is one of God’s ways of communicating with us without words.

There are those who think that this all happened by chance. I have such a hard time with that.  If you happened to travel to Neptune and found a pencil there when you landed you would conclude that someone was there before you. And yet, we have complex human beings, incredible nature and on and on, and the conclusion from some people is that it happened by chance.

The reason they believe that is not because of logic, but because they have tuned out the voice that is speaking through nature.

English is a language. Film is a language. Nature is a language.

God loves to communicate.  And while looking at a tree, a river, a farmer’s field may not give you the answer you need at this very moment for your particular problem, it is a direct message from God. “And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you…” Matthew 6:30 NLT

But to get to that point of faith, we do need to look. We need to look at nature and listen to what God is saying to us.

Be blessed and encouraged in knowing that God wants to speak to you in many ways.

Which ways do you hear from Him?

Leave a Reply

